Dennis Tenen Receives Research Fellowship at the Center for Digital Cultures at Leuphana University, Germany

Monday, November 20, 2017

The Centre for Digital Cultures (CDC), affiliated with Leuphana University of Lüneburg and evolving in 2012 from the research concentration on Digital Media within the Lüneburg Innovation Incubator, scrutinizes this shift through research in disciplines such as media, cultural and social studies, through knowledge creation and transfer, as well as through experimental and interventionist media practices.

New Book Project by Prof. Sharon Marcus Earns a Trio of Fellowships

Friday, September 29, 2017

Prof. Sharon Marcus has been awarded Radcliffe, Guggenheim, and Ransom Center fellowships for a book about the history of celebrity culture, The Drama of Celebrity, under contract with Princeton University Press.

Prof. Susan Crane Retires

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

After fifteen years of teaching at Columbia, Professor Susan Crane is retiring this Fall, leaving behind an exceptionally close group of colleagues in her field and a generation of new scholars in medieval studies inspired by her work and teaching. “Her intellectual legacy here at Columbia and in the field more broadly will continue to inform cutting-edge research for years to come, not only in the areas of romance and courtly culture, for which she is perhaps best known, but also in the areas of animal studies and ecological philosophy,” says colleague Eleanor Johnson.

A New Podcast Series by Ph.D. Candidates Jess Engebretson and Milan Terlunen

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Ph.D. candidates Jess Engebretson and Milan Terlunen have spent the past year creating a new podcast series to share ideas developed by literary scholars with listeners outside of the classroom. Despite the explosion of new podcasts hosted by academics—from Nigel Warburton and David Edmonds’ Philosophy Bites to Neil deGrasse Tyson’s astronomy show, StarTalk— Engebretson and Terlunen point out that there are few platforms for literary scholars. Given that void, Terlunen started to wonder whether a similar format could be made for literary studies.

Emily Bloom Awarded 2017 MSA Prize for a First Book Winner

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

The Modernist Studies Association awards its Prize for a First Book to Emily C. Bloom's The Wireless Past: Anglo-Irish Writers and the BBC, 1931-1968 (Oxford University Press, 2016).